“I think I have ADD – That’s why I’m bad at housework.”

We watched Julie & Julia last night, and it struck me – I’m a undomestic working housewife.  Oftentimes I feel overwhelmed by all the roles I have to play.

I am a wife.  I am not sure if I still fall under newlywed group after a year-and-a-half…

I am a daughter.  I am a sister.  I am an aunt.  I am a niece, a cousin, a granddaughter — and in our tightly-knit Italian family, that in itself is a full-time job… 

I am a friend.

I am a part-time office worker. 

I am a full-time volunteer.

I am a housewife, mostly in the sense that we have a house and I’m mainly responsible for the cleaning and cooking and other household duties… So therefore, I’m a housewife.  And not a very good one at that.  Perhaps I should paid more attention when I lived at home. 

I am… Overwhelmed. 

Some days it feels like my brains are going to explode and my body drop from sheer exhaustion.  Everything requires effort and thinking and planning…  But, that is true of everyone I guess.  I couldn’t imagine if I had children as well. 

But this!  This is where I will vent and brag, where I will share my disappointments and my successes, my struggles and my triumphs… 

This is me.

2 thoughts on ““I think I have ADD – That’s why I’m bad at housework.”

Leave a Reply

