A letter to my bathroom scale

Dear Bathroom Scale,

I know we’ve had a rocky relationship in the past few years.  I know that my behavior towards you hasn’t been fair.  And I deeply apologize for all the inappropriate words I hurled at you, or the time I literally chucked you across the room.  I was frustrated, but that is no excuse. 

It is not your fault that you cannot lie to me.  You’re integrity and honesty are an excellent example for everyone to follow.  I just wish you had thrown in a white lie here or there.  Or shaved a couple pounds off.  Or even rounding down would have been nice. But alas, your honesty, while noteworthy, has affected our relationship, and I’m here to change that.

I would like to start over with you.  I would like to build a new relationship, where I accept your honesty unflinchingly.  Where I rejoice with you over reaching goals.  Where we are friends, not enemies.
 

We are making progress.  Today was a great day.  You cheered me with your little display marking 140.0 lbs.  That means that yes, I have lost 4 lbs in the past few months. 

I want you to know that I won’t be visiting you again till the 1st of April.  I know that it is weeks away, but please understand, it will be better for us. 

In the meantime, I will listen to your silent advice.  I know you think I didn’t hear you, but I did.  Unfortunately, I chose to ignore it, to my detriment and the detriment of our relationship.  But, now, I am listening!

I hope this is the start of a healthy, rewarding relationship.

Sincerely your friend,

 The Undomestic Housewife

9 thoughts on “A letter to my bathroom scale

    • Thanks!
      I cheated and used an old piece of writing – but I’m addicted to Writing Workshop and didn’t want to skip out this week.
      Mmm.. the scale and I still have a love/hate relationship – but it’s more my fault than his, lol. But we’re getting better slowly.

  1. Hi! I’m visiting from Mama Kat’s. I enjoyed this one. :) I also did the letter. My scale and I have had an on-again/off-again relationship. I don’t like how it talks to me sometimes. Perhaps our scales should start a support group….

    • Thanks!
      Yup, actually hurled one across the room – and broke it. Been told I’m not allowed to do that anymore. Haha.. I think it’s exercise as long as you throw it hard enough! :)

Leave a Reply

