Pride & Prejudice

 Everyone knows Pride & Prejudice – even 197 years after it was first published, it continues to be on the “most loved books” list. 

Although I have read this book a few times already, it seemed only appropriate to start my 2010 a-z challenge with my favorite story.

As Pride & Prejudice is well known worldwide, I decided that instead of writing a review – I will instead just share my favorite quote.  It is towards the end of the story, when Elizabeth asks Mr. Darcy the whys and whens of him falling in love with her.  His response was:

“I cannot fix on the hour, or the spot, or the look or the words, which laid the foundation. It is too long ago. I was in the middle before I knew that I had begun.”

It is the best description of falling in love – hardly ever can you pinpoint the exact moment you fell in love.  More often, it is a series of events, emotions and feelings that you do not take notice of, until you are already under love’s spell.

And, now that I’ve started with my most-loved story of all time, I will continue on with the a-z challenge.

Leave a Reply

