4 down, 17 to go

This reading challenge is a little more difficult than I thought.  Seeing as I knocked off the most popular letters early in the game, now I’m struggling to find books I haven’t already read without depleting my book budget.  Off to get a library card I go.  I can’t believe I haven’t had one in eons. I’m sure that would have saved me a lot of money and space over the years.   

But, back to the Reading Challenge, here are the letters knocked off:  H – Every March, a new Jodi Picoult book is released.  I stumbled across The Pact a few years ago, and now have read all but one of her books.  Her latest book House Rules follows the story of Jacob Hunt, an 18-year-old with Asperger’s Syndrome accused of murder.  I like her books because they are entertaining and often teach me a lot about different issues, but her books are starting to all sound the same, which is disappointing.

U – This list wouldn’t be complete without the book Undomestic Goddess by Sophia Kinsella.  This book is what inspired my blog name and makes me want to run away from my life, become a housekeeper and learn to cook and do all the things that would make me the perfect completely domestic housewife.  Of course, I have a wonderful husband who I would never leave, and well, a part-time job that pays way more than I would make working full-time as a housekeeper…

So, only 17 more letters to go.

C – As we might have deduced, I’m an avid Jane Austen fan.  Particularly Pride & Prejudice, but I love anything by and about Jane Austen.  That’s why when I found Cassandra & Jane by Jill Pitkeathly I just had to buy it.  It’s a fictional account, looking into the relationship of Jane Austen and her sister Cassandra, through Cassandra’s eyes.  It was a very good read, probably one I’ll read again soon.

G – In search for a new letter I picked up a book called Growing Up Again written by Catriona McCloud. I kind of liked the book – it had a “13 Going on 30” kind of theme, and as I said I was enjoying it – until disparaging comments were made about people’s religious beliefs which killed the story for me.  I don’t understand why it’s humorous to make fun of others.

3 thoughts on “4 down, 17 to go

  1. Oh wow! What an interesting reading challenge! Wishing you all the best in completing it!

    Thanks for dropping by my blog earlier. Glad you enjoyed my post! :D I can pretty much say that nowadays whenever I hit my panic button when I encountered Mandarin speaking people, I definitely will go ‘wo pu jer tau’ again! Hahaha…

  2. Ooh! I love that you are doing this! Now I have an idea of what to pick up myself. I am totally going to be lazy and just read what you read as long as I can find the books over here. And Ditto on Jodi Picoult. I have read too many of her books that all seem to blend into one. And the endings are usually just bad. IMHO, but they were good beach reads!
    And now I am curious about Growing Up Again, what did she say that turned you off? Just random curiosity!

    • :) I think it’s a great project. Will have to go to the library this week to find other letters. Want to try and do the rest in some logical order, but we’ll see what happens.
      In Growing Up Again, the author was making fun of certain religions, and I think that’s wrong. I have no problem with people not sharing the same beliefs as me, or even disagreeing with me, but I think it’s incredibly rude to make fun of any religion. So, that’s what bothered me with that one.

Leave a Reply

