A Day in the Life of…

A Day in the Life of Undomestic

5:55 – Ugh… I hate this stupid alarm… Is AMP going to turn it off?  Yes, it’s off!  Ten more minutes of sleep, and then I’ll get up and go to the gym.

6:45 – Mm… ‘No, can’t see how you look from here’, ‘Yes, that’s clean’, ‘No, I won’t forget to feed the fish’, ‘Love you too, have a good day.’  Should get out of bed and go to the gym.  Mm… Maybe in 5 minutes

8:00 – Crap!  It’s 8.  Have to run!  In the shower – shave or don’t shave?  It’s sunny out… Definitely shave.  Stupid hair… Make up?  Definitely need it this morning… Hurry!

8:30 – Oops, that took longer.  Need to be out the door soon.  Wait!  Fish!  Need to feed them… No fish floating at the top = good day.  House is a disaster.  Need to set better rules for everyone about picking up after themselves.  Wait, I think I left that there…  Remember not to yell at boys!  Ask for help nicely.  So tired.  Breakfast?  Nothing quick.  Need to buy granola bars.  Forgot to pack a lunch.  Remember for tomorrow.

9:00 – Wow.  Actually made it on time. 

2:00 – Should go home and clean.  Wait, mom needs something.  ‘Yup, be right there.’  Re-routing.  Will only take half-an-hour, an hour at most.  Will be at the gym by 3, home by 4, Clean and have dinner on the table at exactly 5:30.  Make lasagna tonight?  With fresh bread and a salad?  And my house will be spotless! 

3:30 – Crap! Still here.  Should get going.  Need to go to the gym.  ‘Yup, I can wait a couple more minutes, but then I have to go.’

4:30 – AMP wants to be picked up.  It’s pouring, I feel bad making him wait for the bus.  Wasn’t it sunny earlier?  Crap!  Got nothing done today.  No gym!  Never going to fit into that dress.  Will go after dinner.  And then clean.  Oops, forgot to defrost the ground beef for the lasagna….

5:45 – Why does that stupid smoke detector have to go off every time I cook?!?!  Nothing is on fire!  Oh wait… The chicken nuggets are getting burnt…

6:15 – Ok, now to the gym?  In 15 minutes, when this show is done.

7:00 – Dilemma – Watch movie with AMP or clean?  AMP and movie definitely wins!  Maybe fold laundry during the movie? Does that count as productive and/or domestic?  No gym today.  Again.

9:45 – So tired.  Should go to bed and get up early tomorrow.  And then I can clean, go to the gym.  ‘Good night love.’ ‘Sure, I’ll stay and cuddle while you play video games. But only for a few minutes.’

10:30 – In bed.  Read?  Maybe a few pages – I want to know what happens next.  Will definitely be asleep by 11.

11:45 – Lights off!  So tired.  Wait… Wasn’t I supposed to make lunches for tomorrow?  Crap!  Maybe I’ll get up early tomorrow.

Next day
5:55 – Ugh… I hate this stupid alarm… Is AMP going to turn it off?  Yes, it’s off!  Ten more minutes of sleep, and then I’ll get up and go to the gym.

6:45 – Mm… ‘No, I won’t forget to feed the fish’, ‘Love you too, have a good day.’  Should get out of bed and go to the gym.  Mm… Maybe in 5 minutes

8:00 – Crap!  It’s 8.  Have to run!  In the shower.  Stupid hair… Make up?  Definitely need it this morning… Hurry!  Haven’t made lunch yet!  Run, Undomestic, Run!

See a pattern?  I’m completely incapable of managing my time wisely.  I tend to allow myself to be distracted.  I have the best of intentions. But, I want to make everyone happy… I want to be the perfect daughter who is always available when her parents need her.  I want to be the perfect wife – with dinner on the table and a spotless house when AMP gets home, as a thank you for only having to work 2 days a week.  I want to make a list each day and cross every item off, and not have them carry on for weeks.  I want to get to the gym 4x a week, and not have it interfere with the time I set aside to spend with AMP.  I want there to only ever be one load of laundry to be done, the powder room bathroom always in pristine condition, the living room and kitchen ‘show-home’ clean so I’m not embarrassed if anyone decides to stop by.

I want more time…but I’m afraid that I’ll squander it.  I need to be more organized.  I need to make the most of the time I have.  And I need to use it wisely!

 

This post is inspired by prompt no. 5: Time, at Sleep is For the Weak’s Writing Workshop.

4 thoughts on “A Day in the Life of…

  1. Ah! I am right there with you… The same beat runs through my head as my alarm goes off in the morning, as I rush to get ready and out of the door, as I sit at my desk at work… And you’re right, would we be more productive if we had more time? Or just better putting items off?

    Oh, and I’ll always choose a movie with my boy over cleaning the house too. :)

    Well written post!

    • I think I’ll always be better at putting things off. Something I definitely need to work on.
      And like you said, it’s so much better to spend time with our other half’s than clean, so that always wins!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :)

Leave a Reply

