The Learning Curve

1)      Describe someone in your life you might not know as well as you think you know…   From Mama Kat’s Writing Workshop

The Learning Curve

AMP and I have been married 2 years and 4 months.  We started dating 5 years ago summer/fall.  I like to think that after that amount of time, I know him well.

And I do.  I can rattle off any number of random facts, likes and dislikes.  I can tell you how he’ll react or respond in most situations.  But, every day I seem to learn something new about my husband.  That’s normal I guess.  After all, what else is a lifetime for if not to learn more about each other and grow together as a couple? 

When we got married, it was the first time we lived together and spent the night together.  It was strange, and absolutely wonderful, to wake up next to him.  It was interesting to learn his quirks and idiosyncrasies.  How was I to know that shampoo bottles in the shower would make him cringe?  Or that he would rather have dishes on the counter than piled in the sink?  It was a learning process.  We learned what would make each other tick, and what we had to compromise on.  We learned to live with each other’s quirks and idiosyncrasies. And we’re still learning.

I love learning new things about him.  I think we covered all the major, life changing, deal breaking details while we were dating.  I know how he feels about marriage and how he abhors cheating.  I know that he’d rather not have children.  I know that he needs a certain amount of alone time.

I’m talking about the little details.  The details of his childhood; the opinions I never realized he held; the nuances of his feelings and thoughts. 

While watching The Soloist a few weeks ago, I learned that AMP played the cello for two years. 

While visiting with my mother-in-law, I learned that he’s been a morning person since birth basically.  She told me that they knew it was time to teach him how to tell time when he started bringing her coffee at 4 a.m.

While driving the other day, I learned more about his past – the girls I’d rather didn’t exist, but that I can’t help being curious about.  I learned more about his feelings about his relationship with his father.  I learned how these things have made a difference in his life, his emotions and his personality.

AMP is still the same person I fell in love with. 

The things I learn just add to that person – to the person I chose to spend the rest of my life with.

It helps me to understand him better. 

And it makes me love him more each day.

14 thoughts on “The Learning Curve

    • :) I love it. I love being married. I love the learning new things – make things exciting and interesting. :)
      My husband and I have come to a compromise on the morning thing – on his days off, he leaves me to sleep as long as I like, and I don’t complain that he gets up to go play video games.. Works for me! :)
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  1. My husband prefers dishes be piled on the counter instead of the sink too. I prefer the sink. Sometimes they get piled on the counter and I let it slide and sometimes they get piled in the sink and he lets it go. All about what you’re willing to fight over I think, haha.

    • I agree. I’m learning to better at picking my battles! I don’t understand the whole sink/counter thing. I really think that having all the dishes on the counter makes the kitchen look way messier! haha. Oh well. To each their own. Thanks for coming by!

  2. It keeps things interesting when couples are still learning new things about each other. I prefer the dishes on the counter also. If they’re rinsed, then they can go into the sink. Just weird, I guess.

    • Everyone’s different I guess, :)
      It is interesting.. I love getting to learn new things about the wonderful man I married.

  3. Having known Dumb Dad since I was 18 I feel like I know mostly everything about him. He surprises me on occasion, but I’m not sure I really like it when that happens:)

    • :) I know. Sometimes I look at him and I can’t believe we’ve been together so long already – other days, it’s like I’m just getting to know him. Marriage is definitely an adventure.. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. GREAT POST!! =D

    My hubby is a morning person, too… Me? NOT so much… They do say opposites attract!! In our case, for SURE! I learn the most about him when we have family reunions or visiting his brother! HOLY COW!! If our boys did ANY of the things he did when he was LITTLE… they’d be in SO MUCH TROUBLE!! LOL!!

    Then when all the kids come… I learn TOO MUCH about his life with THEIR mother… the perfect demi-goddess (She died of brain cancer)… that I could NEVER measure up to. *sigh* Thank HEAVEN HE doesn’t openly compare me the way his oldest son and wife feel it their duty to do on a regular basis. The hubs… I wouldn’t TRADE for the WORLD! (((HUGS)))

    • Lol.. I guess opposites do attract! We are very opposite in a few ways.. makes life interesting. I’ve just learned to let him get up and play video games or whatnot, and he’s learned not to push me to get up before I’m ready..

      I learn the most about AMP around other people as well, especially his relatives and childhood friends. If we ever have children, I hope they don’t get up to same mischief as their father. He makes me look like the perfect angel teenager!

      Your husband sounds like a lovely man! That must be hard for you to have his children compare you to their mum. Hopefully one day they’ll realize how hurtful that is, and see that you are not trying to replace her. You are your own person. Thanks for reading and commenting.. i shall click over to your blog now. :)

  5. I am enjoying looking through your posts! It has been quite fun to learn more about you.

    My husband and I will be celebrating 3 years this year. Yep. 3 years of marriage and 2 kids to show for it. ; )

    We also chose to not live together (or even sleep together) before marriage and I think that in so doing, there is no sameness. Like you’ve mentioned, each day I learn something new, sometimes bad but most of the time good. I am truly grateful for my dearest husband, he is the perfect one for me.

    • :) Usually people think I’m crazy for not living with (or sleeping with) AMP before deciding to marry him! Nice to find someone like-minded. I don’t regret the decision at all.
      Congratulations on 3 years coming up! You do have such gorgeous little ones. I’m enjoying getting to know you more too.. I’ve read a lot of your posts, and I think you’re pretty cool! :)

Leave a Reply

