Love

 

LOVE

It was your love for me that made it hard for you to let go.  You fussed and worried.  No one was ever really good enough.  But, grudgingly, you came to realize that he truly loved me.  He would never hurt me.  That your little girl was not so little.  That she was in love – the real, forever kind of love. 

And so you let go.  You helped me plan the most spectacular day – you made most of it possible.  You made all the calls I wouldn’t.  You spoke to caterers and decorators.  You spent hours and hours.  And, so I thank you.  I thank you for all the work you put into that day.  I thank you for all the time and love you put into me.  I thank you for loving me, raising me, and letting me go.

I thank you for being the most amazing mom.

I love you.

 

21 thoughts on “Love

  1. Thank you for stopping by at my blog :-) thought I would return the favour as it’s a great way to meet new bloggers.
    Your photo is so beautiful and your words complement it so well. It is a very heartfelt piece and the love and pride you have for your mum is easy to see. Lovely!

  2. Aww.. Thanks everyone!
    Jenny – Thanks for stopping by. I love getting to meet new bloggers and having more interesting & entertaining blogs to read. Thanks for your comments.
    Holly – Yea, that’s one of the things that scares me about motherhood. As much as I rebelled against my parents not wanting to let go, I know that it’s something every parent has to do. Tho, I think having a little one would make it worth it… If that happens.
    Mummy V – Thanks! She really is an amazing lady.

  3. Lovely picture – yes, letting go of your children must be one of the hardest things to do! I can still remember the day mum & dad drove me to university and left me there in my shoebox of a room. My mum started crying and I just didn’t understand it – now I have kids I do!

    • My parents have always been really attached to us kids.. I live ten minutes away (not even actually) and my mom still says it’s too far away. :) I can’t imagine how hard it would be to pour so much time and energy and love into a child and have them discover a life of their own.. Maybe one day, I’ll know.

    • Thanks! I love it too. I have another one of me, my parents and my brother all huddled together in a hug that I love as well… Having the photographer all day was really worth it!

Leave a Reply

