Undomestic’s New Life Rule

I worry I’m becoming too negative, too whiny.  Most of my posts lately seem to be rants and worries and anxieties – not enough happiness.  And in life, I think I’ve been focusing too much on the things that annoy me, or that stress me out – instead of looking for the positives, the happy things.  I don’t want to be a grumpy, bitter woman.  I want to be known to be smily and happy and full of positivity.

For this reason, I have (as of half-a-minute ago) instituted a new rule for myself.

For every negative thought or thing I may want to whine or rant about, I will stop and think of three positive things about the situation.

After all, despite’s life problems, I have lots to be happy for.  I have the most amazing husband in the whole world.  I have two absolutely gorgeous nieces.  I have good friends.  I have faith and a hope for the future.  I am relatively healthy.  I have a beautiful house.  I have a good job that pays ridiculously well, and I only have to work two days a week.  I could go on and on.

I need to start focusing on the positive.  I need to be a happier person.  I need to enjoy the beauty of life’s moments, instead of thinking of what could have been, should have been… Each day has its joys and I must take the time to be thankful for them. 

I am going to be a ‘glass-is-half-full’ person.  ♥

4 thoughts on “Undomestic’s New Life Rule

  1. I think this is a very great plan; however, don’t be too hard on yourself. After experiencing a loss (like you did) it is perfectly normal to have depressive symptoms. I think your latest posts have exhibited this. And that is part of the healing process.

    • I agree. And I think it’s important to talk/write about my feelings. But maybe being a more positive person will help me deal with my loss better? Thanks so much for your comments! It’s nice to know other people understand! :)

  2. WOW! My husband says that glass half full thing to me all the time. When things happen, I tend to go all henny penny (the sky is falling ) LOL! Then I calm down. But like you, I need to learn to replace negative thoughts with positive ones. Phillipians 4:8

    • I get so riled up… My husband tries to bring me back down to earth and is always telling me to look at the positives… Mostly when his brother has done something to annoy me, haha, but still. I do need to be more positive. It’ll help me, and it’ll only do great things for my relationship with my husband, my brother-in-law and everyone else.
      That’s one of my favorite verses as well.. Working on applying it in my life. :)

Leave a Reply

