Unconditional conditions

I’ve been slacking off when it comes to Writer’s Workshop – Being away, and having other things on my mind, has kind of sucked up my time and creativity.  But, I’m determined to jump back on track this week, so here goes…
I let Mama Kat’s prompt no. 3 – ‘What does unconditional love mean to you?’ be my inspiration this week… 

When I think about unconditional love, the first thought is the love a parent has for a child.  To me, that can be the only instance where unconditional love is even possible. 

I love my husband.  In fact, I absolutely adore him.  He’s my best friend and I could not imagine my life without him.  Even when we don’t agree on certain things, it doesn’t change how I feel about him.  I want to tell you that I love him unconditionally.  But, I can’t.  And, I’m sure he’d say the same thing, if you asked him.

If he cheated on me – I wouldn’t love him still.  Sure, it’s not as clear-cut as that, and I may have residual feelings for him, or at least for whom he used to be, but I could guarantee you that I would not stay in love with him… How could you stay in love with someone who shows no respect for you, for your vows, for the love you said you shared? 

That is why I think unconditional love can only be between parents and children… A parent does not usually stop loving their child, even when they do something wrong.  Perhaps they hate the actions, but they still love their child, they still want him/her to do well… Don’t they?  I’m not a parent, so maybe I’m wrong. 

All I know is this – the way the world is today, unconditional love is a rarity – a phenomenon not everyone experiences, and that is sad.  Because there’s nothing like the love of a parent – the ones I know I can run to if I need them – that even if they don’t agree with my choices, they’ll always be there to welcome me back with open arms and love. 

14 thoughts on “Unconditional conditions

  1. Your are absolutely right about the parent/child relationship. Having 3 kids ages 22,19 and 8 there have definitely been times when I haven’t “liked” them but I always love them. I don’t think I could feel that way about anyone else. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I can’t wait to read more of yours. Have a great day!

    • I’m sure my parents have said the same about me – I know I was a little challenging to get along with at times, but I always knew they still loved me. Thanks for coming by, and commenting! :)

  2. You are right. But the longer I’m married the more I think my husband deserves something closer to unconditional love. Except for certain circumstances… of course. But yes, the love a mother has for her children is not just unconditional, it is reckless.

    • Oh I agree.. I love my husband intensely. He is amazing, my best friend, and I honestly would do anything for him. I love him as close to unconditionally as possible – I would forgive him almost anything..
      Thanks for commenting.

  3. I love my girls so much and I know that I always will even if they were murderers. I would still love them not their actions. I have to disagree with you about your husband and that you would not love him if he cheated on you. Infidelity is one of those terrible things that hurts really badly and many people walk away from relationships because of it. Alot of those same people regret leaving based on the infidelity alone. I totally agree with you though, it definately changes the realationship. Some things, if the cheating person changes their ways, get better. Some things stay with the person cheated on forever. Good food for thought! Thanks for visiting Peaceful Divas!

    • Thanks for your comment Katina. You raised some interesting points. I may be willing to forgive a “I-was-completely-drunk-and-didn’t-know-what-I-was-doing”. And I could forgive someone cheating, but I would not be able to trust that person ever again, and to me, without trust and respect, there’s little to support a marriage. And, in my opinion, affairs don’t happen in healthy relationships – they are usually a manifestation of deeper issues.
      Being loved is a gift, something to be treasured. I would never stop loving my husband for not taking the garbage out, or staying out all night with his guy friends, or a myriad of other things, but I think a line is drawn somewhere. When a person cheats they are saying that your love is worthless, and I think that in that case, my love would wither away. But, that’s just my opinion. I’ve never had to (and I hope I never will) go through a situation like that, so I guess I can’t really know how I’d feel or react if I ever faced it.
      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  4. I agree whole heartedly. I love the hubs, and I will always love him as the father of my children. but no way do I even remotely love him unconditionally. My boys on the other hand…despite screaming, crying, angry, funny, sad times….there is NOTHING that will make me stop loving them!

  5. I think about this alot……there is nothing my kids could do that would stop me from loving them…there is an invisible cord attaching me to them…that can never be broken. There will ALWAYS be something there…..xx

Leave a Reply

