Missing body, circa 2005

I miss the 20-year-old me… To be incredibly specific, I miss my 20-year-old body.  Though I didn’t appreciate it at the time, I actually was pretty hot, if I say so myself, haha.  Huge boobs, tiny waist, actually in shape… All things I didn’t see back then.  I don’t know what my problem was, complaining about my size 0-2 body that required basically very little effort to maintain because I had the most amazing metabolism.  I swear I could actually lose weight just by thinking about it, while still hitting McDonalds or Dairy Queen.

 

But, five years later, I weigh almost 20 lbs more, and I’m lucky if my hips will squeeze into a size 7.  My stomach is definitely not flat, my thighs touch… the only thing I still have going for me is the boobs. 

And, I don’t have a pregnancy to blame for it.  Just a stupid case of mono when I was 21, that basically murdered my metabolism… And, well, it took me a little while to notice that I couldn’t eat fast food and still look great anymore. 

I want to get in shape… I really do.  And I feel like I’m trying, but not hard enough.  The Get-Fit Challenge has been a bust.  I haven’t lost any more weight since the second month.  My only success is that I’ve maintained that 6 to 7 lbs weight loss, which I mean, is still something. 

But, my October deadline is days away, and I’m still 12 lbs and 8.5 inches away… Just like I was in July… So absolutely no progress in the past 2 months (and a bit).

Getting to the gym has been difficult.  The mornings are getting darker, and getting up at 6 a.m. is not my thing.  But, I need to put more of an effort, or I’m never going to get anywhere with it. 

So, I have a new goal… Well, same goal and new deadline.

I will give myself to the spring… Just before bathing suit season. 

And I will up my determination…

Hopefully this time it works.

2 thoughts on “Missing body, circa 2005

  1. I was just talking about this with my friend–the frenzy we women (and men) often feel to fit into a certain shape. I know I feel it! Good luck with your goals.

  2. Kids or no kids, getting in shape is tough! Instead of setting a large goal to be met way down the road, why don’t you do small, short term goals. Such as .5 to 1 lb a week? I was aiming for 15 lbs before August. Well July 20th came around and I became very discouraged with myself for not even coming close. I now do I weekly attempt to lose between 1 to 2 lbs. I don’t always meet it, but so far I’ve had better progress. Good luck! :)

Leave a Reply

