when things seem too good to be true

I’m incredibly disappointed at the moment.  After the talk AMP and I had, I really got into the idea of getting a puppy.  Perhaps it’ll take the edge of the baby obsession, or distract me long enough to give my dear husband some more time.  So, I turned my attention to researching puppies – how big they get, temperament, how much they shed and bark, etc.  

Originally I wanted a Chocolate Labrador Retriever, but AMP had Labs and Retrievers growing up and wanted something different.  My other picks were a Rottweiler, a German Shepherd, a Beagle, or Border Collie.  Each had their pros and cons.  I spent a few hours on the local Buy & Sell, and well, found my dream dog – a black Shiba Inu.  We adopted a 7-year-old red one when I was 12, and he passed seven years later of old age.  I love their temperament, they are so stinking cute, and I was so excited to find one on the Buy & Sell.

Black Shiba Inu – isn’t he cute?!

And, he was only $150.00!  Clearly, there’s a reason when things seem too good to be true.

It was a scam.  As have a few other puppy ads I emailed from the same site.  They are all “we live in Timbuktu and please adopt our beloved puppy and we don’t want any money except for transportation costs, and we will send you your puppy after you’ve paid for delivery.”   

Clearly, I’m not going to send some random stranger money.  Plus I want to see and pick out my puppy in person.

But, we can’t afford breeder prices – which are usually in the $800 to $1500 range. 

So, now I have a decision to make… Am I willing to just get any puppy, non-purebred that is in our price range, or am I going to scrap the puppy idea completely?

5 thoughts on “when things seem too good to be true

  1. There are so many puppy scams out there! I hope you do get your puppy – there is nothing wrong with going for a non-puredbread one, unless you’re planning on showing it? We have a 19 week old Springer Spaniel and he is such a pleasure! I was dubious about getting a puppy because of all the hard work but he is so worth it. He really has changed our lives for the better. We had also thought of getting a Beagle but apparently they are a lot harder to train and as they are hunting dogs are very difficult to take on walks, as they just run off and won’t come back! Let us know how you get on with your puppy search! :)

    • No, I’m not planning on showing or breeding, so it doesn’t really matter if it’s purebred or not. It’s just harder to figure out what they’ll be like when they are mixes. I honestly didn’t expect there to be so many scams out there.
      Beagles apparently are really hard to train, and prone to anxiety attacks. Or so I’ve heard. Springer Spaniels are cute! :) What did you name the little guy?

      Thanks for dropping by! :) I’ll keep you updated on the puppy hunt!

  2. Pingback: Meet my new pet… « The Undomestic Housewife

Leave a Reply

