Rule no. 1

I have a rule – no ‘real life’ people are allowed to read my blog.  That includes my family, friends and acquaintances.  In fact, if anyone accuses me of being ‘The Undomestic Housewife’ I’ll deny it vehemently.  The only person who knows about this blog (hopefully) is my husband AMP.  And, I don’t think he reads it…. which, when I think about it, is probably for the best. 

There are many reasons for this ‘secrecy’.  One is that I love the anonymity of blogging, of being able to express myself freely without fear of hurting someone’s feelings or of recriminations.   I love that I can whine and rant, and then forget about it – in a way that’s impossible to do when you’re with real life people.

I’ve pondered this question: Would my blog be the same if it was open for viewing to all my friends and family?  The answer is unequivocably, no.  Because most of what I spill here is things I wouldn’t tell them – for fear of hurting feelings, or having awkward situations.  Could you imagine how awkward it would be for my sister-in-law to read about my sex life with her brother?!?!  Not that I talk about those sort of things, but this way I have that option, haha.

And that, my dear readers, is why I won’t invite my mother (or anyone else I see face-to-face) to read my blog.

:)

Inspired by prompt no. 3 at Mama Kat‘s..

24 thoughts on “Rule no. 1

  1. I was SO EXCITED to have MamaKats choose my topic… I ran through the house screaming to my husband, who could honestly have cared less.
    I’m thrilled that so many people think the same way. I loved your take on this.
    I almost told my mother… almost… especially when she talked to me on the phone today about an unrelated subject and ended up complimenting me on how well I write.
    Reading your post has given me strength to hold out another day… so I can keep writing my honest feelings and not overly censor myself. Thanx!

    • :) Glad to help JustMom! I’ve battled the desire to share my blog with some of the people in my life – but I always come back to the knowledge that I would be then censoring myself. And for me, I love having this spot where I can say whatever want, how I want it. :)

    • I love the anonymity. I’m sure I wouldn’t have written half my posts if it was not anonymous…
      My settings are on ‘normal visitors’ but no search engines – I’m secretly paranoid that someone I know in real life will figure out its me haha.

  2. My husband knows but noone else does because my blog is my place to rant and vent about my crazy mom and the nutty tings she does to drive me crazy. My hubby knows this and he gets a kick out of my blog. There are days when I wish he didn’t know but mostly it’s OK that he does.

  3. I too am not ready yet to go completely “public” but to be honest, I have a secret desire to publish to the word; friends, family, co-workers, the whole sha-bang that simply THINK they know me. They might be in for a surprise and that is rather thrilling to anticipate.

  4. Thank you for stopping by my blog! I am the same way. I used to post my blog onto Facebook, so people in real life could read it. Since closing my blog and starting over, I haven’t done that. But sometimes I have trouble remembering that and posting what I really need to. :)

    Hope you’re having a fantastic weekend!

    • Yea.. when I first started blogging, I did it because some friends were doing it, and they had access to the blog – but I still wanted to keep it private-ish, so they were the only ones that knew about it. I recently deleted that blog – this one is completely private!

      And, yes thank you, I did have a fantastic weekend! :) Thanks for popping over.

  5. If only I had done this as well. Unfortunately, word slipped out and I was afraid of hurting people’s feelings so I decided to unveil myself. Maybe that’s why I don’t write as much anymore.

  6. Thanks for stopping by my blog… well, I don’t put anything into my blog that I wouldn’t say to someone’s face. I guess after 6 kid and 3 husbands… I don’t really care what people think about me. Okay scratch that… I do care and I won’t intentionally hurt anyone’s feelings- IRL or virtually- but I do tell it like I see, feel, know it and if someone takes issue with it? They know how to get in touch with me to discuss it.
    But I do not use my kid’s real names and I try to post pics that have any identifying marks or logos etc.
    I try… I may not always succeed but then, who wants to know where a 40-something mom of 6 lives anyway???
    I enjoyed my visit here and will be back— as time allows! LOL!

  7. anonymity gives a person so much freedom. Because my friends don’t know about this blog (only three people know about the blog but they are not allowed to ask me anything I espress on the blog in real life) I write what is really bothering me.

    I really don’t think I will open it to my family just like you. I can always do a new one to share with them :)

Leave a Reply

