what is my inspiration?

I’m determined to get back on the wagon this week – the Writing Workshop one.  I’ve missed writing regularly (or somewhat regularly) on my blog – and need to my life back to some sense of normalcy.  For me, that includes writing.

The workshop prompts were hard for me this week.  I’d already written about the friendship one several times – and I’m not feeling creative enough for the ‘reliving a moment in your life’. 

So, I decided to go with prompt number 4 – What inspires you to write?

I don’t remember the first time I wrote a poem, or a story, or anything.  I know that I have notebooks from my teenage years, all filled with poems – some happy, some sad.  I know that I kept a diary – which got me into trouble more times than I can count (note to self: if trying to hide something from the parents, don’t write about it and leave the writing in your room!).

I know why I write – to get the words out that are jumbled in my head, to find some peace – but what inspires me to do it?

I have no idea.

Is it maybe wanting to have one talent – one thing I’m good at – that inspires me to pick up the pen and scribble down my thoughts?

Is it a distant (and probably unrealizable) dream of wanting to have a book of my own – with my name on the front – for the world to read? 

Or wanting to be like the millions of authors whose books I devour – wanting to be special and known for something? 

I don’t know… All I know is, no matter what is my inspiration – writing is my escape – it’s a part of me – it’s something I have to do.

One thought on “what is my inspiration?

  1. I think you very nicely and clearly identified your inspiration to write. Writing is an escape AND a way for us as women to talk without really talking to someone facet to face. It’s also fun to have people visit your blog to see what you have to say for the day. Makes you feel good:)

    Thanks for sharing. Stopping by via Mama Kat’s!

Leave a Reply

