Pills & dots

Pregnancy test

Image via Wikipedia

Disclaimer:
Feel free to ignore this post.  After all, it may fall into “TMI” territory… And really, I just need to vent and I think AMP is tired of listening me talk about this. 

I’ve been on birth control for most of our married life.  I hate it, but it’s a necessary evil.  I’ve tried 3 different pills in this time – Yasmin, which worked fine but gave me some sort of rash on my lower legs, Micronor (the mini-pill), which is when I had the pregnancy/miscarriage, and for the past 10 months I’ve been Alesse.

Alesse has been fine.  My period arrived like clockwork every 4th Monday. 

Except for last month when it arrived on Wednesday.

And this month, when it hasn’t arrived at all… 

I took a pregnancy test yesterday.  I thought since I was due to restart the active pills, and still no period, I thought I should at least take the test.

It came up negative. 

My emotions on that are not up for discussion at the moment, all I will say is that I ping-ponged between happy and sad.

So, I am not pregnant.  But still have no period.  And having weird pains.  And I’m nauseous, but that could still be leftover effects from tequila shots on Sunday night…. Tequila shots – that alone is enough reason for me to hope I’m not pregnant. 

My Internet research suggests I should see a doctor – could mean a hormonal imbalance apparently if it’s not a pregnancy.  Some birth control pills can make you stop having your periods all together.  Alesse is not one of those.

So hormonal imbalance, or it could be a pregnancy, but my hormone levels are too low for the home pregnancy test to pick up, which was the case for my mom and other family members when they were pregnant.

Oh, and interestingly enough, this around the same time I got pregnant last time… How’s that for weird coincidences?

Or it could be nothing.  Has anyone else ever experienced this on birth control?

9 thoughts on “Pills & dots

    • Uh oh.. As much as I want a baby, I’m not quite ready yet.. and we have a plan, so I hope it’s not a pregnancy quite yet. Doctor said to repeat a pregnancy test in a week.. and then not worry about it unless it comes up positive or my period doesn’t come next month.. We’ll see how it goes.

  1. When I am in bad periods of stress, even on the pill my period can fluctuate. Also I skipped my period a few months ago for a vacation and that has messed with me for the last 2 months.

    If it was happening frequently (more than one month) I would be more concerned. Things have been kind of stressful and crazy for you, right? I’d guess that’s what it is.

    • Basically that’s what the doctor said.. If I skip next month again, I should go see my gynocologist. It has been stressful lately, but no more this month than the last two month, and I got my period then. But it could be that my body is revolting against me and taking a break.. little does it know that taking a break stresses me out more.

  2. I’m sure if you call the doctor, s/he will let you know if you should worry or not. I’ve had the oppisite happen. “break through bleeding” One week period, one week nothing, one week “break through bleeding, one week nothing. One period a month is more than enough, thank you very much.
    Now was that TMI?

    • No.. lol.. But I grew up around a million women, so I’m used to that kind of talk…
      I went to the doctor.. He said my pregnancy test came back negative (which I knew), but I should repeat it in a week to make sure… And otherwise, he has no idea. Sometimes pills will just do that apparently. But I might need to switch.. again. :(

  3. Pills can make you feel weird. I have been on Ortho Tri Cyclen Lo and it worked pretty good. I was on something else before that one, but can’t even remember the name right now and it made me really emotional.

    That’s the beauty of anonimity, you can have TMI! It’s nice to have girl talk anyway. The TMI reminded me of my mom who tells me about her sex life. We have VERY good communication :) I always try to change the subject!

  4. If I have been poorly or stressed I sometimes do miss a period even on birth control. But as the doctor and everyone else has said unless it happens twice in a row I wouldn’t be that concerned. xx

    • Yea. I’m trying to not be concerned.
      On the other hand, I keep thinking, would it really be that bad if I was pregnant now? My arms feel like they are aching for a little one of my own.. I don’t know how much longer I can wait without going crazy.

Leave a Reply

