Another “new” start

Yoga Class at a Gym Category:Gyms_and_Health_Clubs

Image via Wikipedia

I stepped on the scale yesterday and almost had a heart attack.  The number that flashed up at me was horrifying.  And, even with the necessary adjustments (considering daily fluctuation as it was 4 p.m. and not first thing in the morning when I usually weigh myself and the fact that I currently have my period), I still was very upset.  I am supposed to be losing weight, not gaining it.

But of course, to lose weight requires motivation and exercising and self-control.  Things I have not had or practiced in the past few months.  I haven’t even updated my Get Fit Challenge page since February.  And I think the last time I stepped foot in the gym was probably in February as well. 

And now, we’re in the second-to-last week of April and I still have lots of weight to lose before the summer.

Yesterday’s scale reading shocked me into my workout gear and to the gym.  I worked out for 30 minutes, which is a good starting point.  I did 20 minutes of cardio and ten minutes of circuit training.  Which I know isn’t enough to do anything.  Especially when I do it once every two months.

My goal for the first of May is to be doing 45 minutes of cardio, three times a week. I’ve also already started increasing my water intake and cutting out carbonated and sugary beverages, and taking fiber. 

Now, I just need to be more ‘selfish’ with my time and say no to things so I can get my butt to the gym.

3 thoughts on “Another “new” start

    • Thanks! It’s ok.. I’m definitely drinking more water and making better food choices! :) Small steps but at least they are in the right direction. And, actually exercising has been helping haha.

Leave a Reply

