Pet Peeves

ipod touch

Image by Sean MacEntee via Flickr

I’m not a person who hates technology.  I would love to have a ‘smart phone’ but am content to just use my husband’s when I need it and save the extra $30/month in costs for a data plan – to put towards new clothes and shoes and books, of course.

I love being able to access information at the touch of the button.  I love that I can text and don’t have to have a phone-phobic meltdown when I need to pass along a quick message.  I love having music wherever I go.

What I don’t love is when people ignore the actual breathing humans right in front of them to play on their phones and other devices. 

I’m not talking about reading or replying to a text (especially if the person excuses himself to do so), or answering a call.

What I’m talking about is watching a movie on your iPod Touch at the park when you are with your sisters and 3-year-old niece who is begging to play with you.

I’m talking about playing a game on your phone while someone is trying to have a conversation with you.

I’m talking about being in a room with a group of people and no one is talking to each other, but instead are all checking stats or playing games on their phones.

I love technology, but I think it’s making people less focused on the present and more ignorant of their total lack of manners. 

I’m the first to communicate via technology – but I try my best to put away my phone when I’m having ‘face time.’  Of course, I’m not perfect myself, and have probably slipped up a few times, but I’m making an effort – out of consideration and respect for the people I’m with.

I wish others would to the same.

Anyone else shares this pet peeve of mine, or am I just going crazy?

6 thoughts on “Pet Peeves

  1. OMG I totally agree!! I argue about this all the time! It drives me crazy when I’m trying to compete with a phone or laptop! I feel like we’re all so busy trying to respond to texts/emails/facebook that we miss all the opportunities to really spend quality time together. I’m glad I’m not alone!

  2. Pingback: Pet Peeves (via The Undomestic Housewife) « Scaredmom's Blog

  3. Totally agree, for periods of time throughout the day I put my phone on silent. I have to for my own sanity then I don’t hear anything going off and I can’t answer or look at anything. It really works for me! xx

  4. Totally agree with you. My husband and I were just out to dinner the other night and laughing about how many tables were filled with people texting or talking on their phones instead of interacting with the people at their tables. So strange.

Leave a Reply

