Decisions Decisions

After an impossibly long time waiting, 2012 is just about upon us. 

2012 is the year we start trying for a baby. 

Obviously, trying for a baby requires preparation…

  • exercising
  • improving my diet
  • prenatal vitamins
  • folic acid
  • etc, etc…

But, it also requires making the decision of when to go off birth control.  The birth control I’ve been taking for the past 5 years, every single day. 

So, when do I go off it?

We are hoping to get pregnant in the late spring, early summer, but I’ve been throwing around the idea of going off birth control next month.

But, then that requires being ‘careful’ for a whole 5 months… and in a house where condoms are apparently not an option, I’m not sure how to do that.  We’ve only ever used the pill for protection.

Anyone have any experience with non-hormonal female birth control and can give me any advice?

 

7 thoughts on “Decisions Decisions

  1. I’m not one to pass along my personal thoughts on things…except when asked. I hope you take everyone’s thoughts into consideration and filter out those that are not for you…mine included! SO, since you asked….going off BC, there is not black or white answer. It was suggested to me that your body needs a full cycle or two before it gets back into it’s natural groove again. Some people wait a LONG time, others a very short time, and then there are those who are surprised. All that to say…I would recommend not planning. You can plan to avoid those few weeks in the middle of your cycle since that is when you have the greatest chance, but in my honest opinion…God will be God.

    One of my lessons that I learned early about parenting…before my daughter was even born, was not to plan. It never goes by the book. My pregnancy was not by the book…ask my mid-wife. So take a leap of faith here and I would recommend going off whenever and then it will happen whenever. It’s a good precursor to the rest of your life as a mom. If you get pregnant early so what? If you miss the window for late spring/early summer will you wait till next year? :)

    Stepping off my soap box now. Thank you very much. Merry Christmas!

    • Thanks for your advice :)
      Actually, we are not wanting to get pregnant any earlier than late April/early May. That is really the earliest we will consider, so it’s something for us to keep in mind. While I know things aren’t always going to go to plan – I do like at least trying to plan a little ahead of time. If it doesn’t work out, I’ll live – but I find that with such a life changing event I’m not quite willing to throw it all to the wind and “see how it goes”. Especially since while I can plan when we start trying, I can’t plan when I get pregnant, or if this pregnancy too will end in a miscarriage, or many other factors. But, I do agree with your philosophy that life doesn’t go by the book. It’s a lesson I’ve learned a few times over in my life.

  2. You need to keep in mind that it can take months of trying before you get pregnant and it can take a couple of months for the birth control to leave your system completely too.
    Good luck!

    • Yea, we’re ready for the ‘months of trying’. I don’t expect to get pregnant the first month we try, and I’ve told my husband that sometimes it can take months… even a year (or more) to get pregnant.
      We’re being “careful” for the next few months tho since I’m officially off the birth control pills now. We’re willing to start trying from April on, so it’ll only be a few month of carefullness… I’ve been on the pill for so long that I want to give my body a break and get it out of my system completely before I get pregnant.

  3. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

