The next person that…

tells me that I shouldn’t have kids is going to really get a piece of my mind.

WARNING: RANT AHEAD!

It’s hard for me to explain the situations exactly without giving a lot of details – but briefly… I’ve had a few people in the last week or two, who have no relation to me nor who would be affected by my decision, tell me not to have children.

Most of the people are a bit older and have children themselves.  One or two, don’t.

Usually I’m annoyed but able to brush off the comments, but maybe because we’re planning to begin trying in April, it’s starting to get under my skin. 

I am a very opinionated person, but I don’t try to shove my opinions down other people’s throats.  Especially when it comes to personal decisions.

And, people?  Two people having a child is a personal decision that involves that couple.  It’s not something that needs to be up for public debate. 

Nor should people make blanket statements to others under the guise of ‘well, I’m just trying to give them advice.’ 

To me advice is, “Before you make the decision, think about how expensive it is to raise  a child in this economy.”  Those kind of comments I can appreciate.  After all, they are valid points that people who are considering starting a family should seriously think about.  But to point blank tell a person not to have children? 

Sorry, but that’s not advice, and I don’t have to take it.

2 thoughts on “The next person that…

    • Yea, I used to hate that… Till I keep being told not to have children. Seriously, it’s such a personal decision, and people shouldn’t be asking (nor inserting their opinion for either way).. Unless their opinion is asked for.

Leave a Reply

