Trying again…

Anyone who has been following me for a while knows that I’ve spent the past couple years talking about losing weight.  When I started, I was whining talking about it, I was at around 148 lbs.  My goal was 125. 

Since that time, I’ve lost a total of 9 lbs – and kept it off (mostly).  Which is great.. But, that means I still have 14 lbs to lose.

We shelled out almost $50/each a month for a year and a half for a gym membership that we barely used.  Not completely because I lacked motivation – but mostly a time factor.  With one car, it was hard to make time to get to the gym – and with our different schedules (and sleep needs) going together never seemed to work.

That membership lapsed at the end of last month – and we didn’t renew it.  I considered going back to my women’s only gym which would cost me about $25 a month – but since we still have one car – I don’t see how the time issue is going to change at all. 

So, I decided to buy myself an ellitptical.  I found one on Craiglist (love Craiglist) for about $850 less than I wouild pay in the store – used but in great condition.. After testing it out, I told the lady that I was going to take it and we pick it up tonight!  I’m so excited to be able to do cardio in the comfort of my own home.  I’ve never been so excited about something fitness related. 

I’m hoping we can get it set up tonight, and starting from tomorrow I can put myself on some sort of realistic workout schedule.  That along with a little more tweaking to my eating habits.. maybe I can be down 10 lbs by June – which is an attainable 1 lb a week.  And if not, maybe at least I look more toned before summer gets here — even if I still weigh exactly the same!

4 thoughts on “Trying again…

  1. I have a treadmill in my home, and we recently added an elliptical for much the same reason. I cannot get out to a gym and workout. The only time I have is early in the morning before the kids get up. And at least three of those days, their dad is not home, so I can’t just leave them at home. But I do like the workout at home. There is something nice, that no one is judging me. But some of my friends/acquantances go take Zumba classes in groups and sometimes I think I am missing out on something

  2. How’s that going? I want to lose 10 pounds and never have the time to exercise. It’s totally annoying. It doesn’t help that I have a very large sweet tooth. Good luck.

    • Not so well.. At least in the pounds dept.. I have used the elliptical but not as much as I planned.. Things always seem to come.. like our guests this week.. and just plain busyness the next… or not feeling well.. But, people keep telling me I lost weight, so it can’t be all that bad.. :) I’m working on my patience level.. But, then again, I’ve been trying to lose these 15 lbs for 3 years.. so I guess that’s patient enough!

Leave a Reply

