to lose myself

Image of a modern fountain pen writing in curs...

Image of a modern fountain pen writing in cursive script. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve always loved to read.  Anything.  My parents love telling people that when I ran out of things to read, I used to read the phone book.

But reading has always been my escape.  I love sinking into a good story.  To surround myself by characters that I love or that infuriate me.  I love losing myself in their lives.

Writing used to be the same for me.

I wrote short stories – where I lost myself in my character’s stories.  Like many writers, I used to complain that I didn’t know what the character was going to do next… It was their story, not mine.

I haven’t written a short story in a long time.

The characters have disappeared.

Maybe I’m too wrapped up in my own life – my own thoughts and emotions and fears – and the words won’t come out.

I struggle through blog posts… writing a line here.. and a line there..

I can’t lose myself.

At least I still have books.

Leave a Reply

