Ticking clocks…

English: A calendar like a clock

English: A calendar like a clock (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

AMP and I have very different opinions when it comes to certain things.One of these things is: the right age to have children.

We both realize that there’s no perfect age, and that everyone is different.. We both have an idea of what we’d prefer, and we’re very much on opposite ends.

For example, I’m 27, and if I had it my way I’d be done having kids, or just having my second.  Basically, having started at 25 (which I would have been if I hadn’t miscarried – but let’s ignore that).

AMP, on the other hand, favors waiting until you are older.  He says you’re more experienced and settled in life, more mature.

Which I agree with, of course.

But, I also think that there’s something to be said for youth – for having more energy, for better being able to handle the sleepless nights.

It could be partly because my parents were young – having had me at 20/21 and my brother at 23/24, so at 47/48 they are already child-free again.

It could be partly because most of my cousins already have children and I am sad that my child will not be the same age.

What’s done is done, and there’s no turning back, but I definitely feel a bit rushed now.  Wanting to get pregnant right away – to be done having kids by 30.

On the other hand, it’s nice that we’ll have been married 5 years-ish before we have children – and had more time to get to know each other, to be comfortable and secure in our relationship.

There’s no right or wrong, but I can’t help feeling like I’m behind sometimes…

What’s your take? 

Leave a Reply

