TGIF

I work, on average, about 35 hours a week.  Usually only 15 of them are in an office (and those 15 are the only ones I get paid for).

My job in the office consists of sitting at my desk, writing cheques and doing other bookkeeping-like activities.  There’s some data entry. 

Once every few months I’ll have calls come in for me. 

Once and a while, I help out and grab a few calls for the receptionist.

But, usually, phones are not a part of my job description.

Except for the couple weeks a year where I get roped in to doing reception – then I have to answer phones 7.5  hours a day, five days a week.

Have we discussed yet my absolute dislike for talking on the phone?

And, in an office it’s even worse.  Because people are rude and demanding and you have to be polite – because it’s your job.

Plus it’s 3x days of working.. and while the money is awesome.. it throws my whole schedule out of whack.

So, at the end of the week, I’m a tired, cranky person – with a mile long to do list at home.

At least it’s Friday.  And next week, I’ll only have to work one extra day instead of 3. 

What job do you hate the most doing at your office/work?

2 thoughts on “TGIF

  1. I work 3 weeks out of the month at home. I go into the office the last week of the month and I hate when people come into my office for “small talk”. It sucks up so much of my time while I’m trying to finish my work so I can go back home as soon as possible. I love working at home because I can turn on the radio and I don’t have any interruptions.

    • Ooh, I’m jealous. I wish I could work from home most of the time… I’m actually secretly hoping I can convince my boss to let me do that once I have a baby.. Well, to work from home most of the time. Or to be able to just come in and pick stuff up.

Leave a comment